Orchestra and Large Ensemble

Brontë Antiphons (2020)
A choral setting of Emile Bronte’s No Coward Soul is Mine incorporating elements of David Power‘s setting of the same poem and based on medieval plainchant.

Performances: Elysian Singers at York Late Music.

Instrumentation: SATB.

Duration: c. 6 minutes.

Shadow Variations (2019)
For ukulele ensemble based on Theme and Variations on The Dowie Dens of Yarrow by Samantha Muir.

Performances: Ukulele Institute for Advanced Players (including members of AUTLA – Australian Ukulele Teachers and Leaders Association) at Valla Beach Ukulele Camp, New South Wales, Australia (WP).

Instrumentation: standard (soprano) ukuleles. A minimum of 4 players is required to play every piece but some can be played as trios, duos or even solos.

Duration: flexible.

The Cathedral on the Marshes (2010-11)
A ‘sewage cantata’ celebrating the achievements of Joseph Bazalgette (1819-1891), designer of London’s modern sewage system, to a libretto by Sarah Diamond.

Commissioned by: Crossness Engines Trust funded by Arts Council England, the RVW Trust, the PRS Foundation, the Britten-Pears Foundation and the London Borough of Bexley.

Performances: Belvedere Concert Band and choirs from Bexley Music Service at the beam engine house, Crossness Sewage Treatment Works, London.

Instrumentation: concert band – 3 fl. (3rd dbl. picc.), 2 ob., cl. (3 sections), b. cl., 2 a. sax., ten. sax., bar. sax., 2 bsn, 4 hrn, 3 tpt, 2 tbn., b. tbn., 2 euph., tba, timp., kit, perc. (crash cym., trng., tamb., glock.); SATB; children’s voices.

Duration: c. 20 minutes.

Bounce (2004)
Composed whilst in residence on Making Music‘s ‘Breakout’ scheme, pairing composers with amateur ensembles throughout the U.K.

Performances: Wymondham Youth Orchestra and Pulham Village Orchestra conducted by Margery Baker at Wymondham Abbey, Norfolk (WP), and University of Hertfordshire as part of ‘Breakout’ final concert.

Instrumentation: 3 fl. (3rd dbl. picc.), 3 ob., 2 cl., b. cl., 2 bsn, 2 hrn, 2 tpt, flg. hrn, euph., timp., perc. (glock., lge susp. cym., snr. dr., tamb.), strings; concertino of: 2 fl., ob., cl., a. sax., bsn, pno.

Duration: c. 12 minutes.

Tall Ship Tales (2001)
Symphonic movement using sea shanties as its raw material.

Commissioned by: City of Rochester Symphony Orchestra funded by the RVW Trust and the Britten-Pears Foundation.

Performances: City of Rochester Symphony Orchestra conducted by Harry Curtis at Central Theatre, Chatham (WP); South and West Hertfordshire Youth Orchestra conducted by Patrick Bailey at the Southbank Centre; City of Rochester Symphony Orchestra conducted by Michael Thompson at Central Theatre, Chatham, as part of the 2005 Trafalgar celebrations.

Instrumentation: 3 fl. (2nd dbl. picc.), 2 ob., 2 cl., 2 bsn, 4 hrn, 2 tpt, 3 tbn., tba, timp., 2 perc., strings (8, 8, 6, 6, 2).

Duration: c. 15 minutes.

Seachange (1999)
An orchestral variation on Michael Tippett’s setting of Full Fathom Five composed as part of a ‘Tippet Variations’ project that I devised and coordinated at Morley College.

Performances: Morley College Chamber Orchestra conducted by Gerry Cornelius at Morley College, London (WP); Nottingham Symphony Orchestra conducted by Jacques Cohen.

Instrumentation: 2 fl. (2nd dbl. picc.), 2 ob., 2 cl., 2 bsn, 2 hrn, perc. (vib., tub. bells, hi-hat), strings (6, 6, 5, 3, 2).

Duration: c. 2 minutes.

Morning Sketch (1999)
Three miniatures composed for the opening of the 1999 Isleworth Festival.

Commissioned by: Isleworth Festival.

Performances: String Factory conducted by Nic Pendlebury at Syon House, London (WP).

Instrumentation: string orchestra (minimum 4, 3, 2, 2, 1).

Duration: c. 3 minutes.

Good Vibrations (1997-8)
A concertante movement for alto trombone and soprano vocalise.

Commissioned by: East of England Orchestra (now Sinfonia Viva) funded by Eastern Arts.

Performances: East of England Orchestra conducted by Nicholas Kok with Mary Nelson (soprano) and Anthony Howe (alto trombone) at the Assembly Rooms, Derby (WP).

Instrumentation: fl., 2 ob. (2nd dbl. ca.), 2 cl. (2nd dbl. b. cl.), 2 bsn, 2 hrn, 3 tpt, perc. (vib., b. dr., 4 tom-toms, 4 bgo), solo soprano (vocalise), solo alto trombone, strings (6, 6, 5, 3, 1).

Duration: c. 7 minutes.

Squaring Up (1992)
For chamber orchestra.

Commissioned by: York University Chamber Orchestra.

Performances: York University Chamber Orchestra conducted by Roger Marsh at the Sir Jack Lyons Concert Hall, University of York (WP); Royal Scottish National Orchestra conducted by David Davies at the 1993 IBM Composers’ Competition; BBC Philharmonic conducted by Martyn Brabbins at the 1995 Manchester Composers’ Platform.

Instrumentation: 2 fl. (2nd dbl. picc.), 2 ob., 2 cl. (2nd dbl b. cl.), 2 bsn (2nd dbl. c. bsn), 2 tpt, 2 hrn, perc. 1 (xyl., crot., b. dr.), perc. 2 (mar., vib.), perc. 3 (t. blk, 2 bgo, 2 susp. cym., lge t-t.), strings (6, 6, 4, 4, 2).

Duration: c. 15 minutes.